Archive for July 23rd, 2008

Entry for July 23, 2008

I’m trying to work out my schedule for the fall. One class I might take is from 6:30 to 8:30 on Thursday nights. How stinkish is that? Also, my other class I’m definitely taking starts at 8:30 AM on Tuesday and Thursdays. Somehow being at school for 12 hours doesn’t actually appeal to me that much. Grumble grumble.

Entry for July 23, 2008

I haven’t been reading a whole lot on account of moving, which occupied my time for two weeks, and then knitting and watching Red Dwarf, which occupied the past few days. I did manage to finish three books over the past few weeks though.

Cat’s Eye by Margret Atwood was really strange and kinda disturbing. I liked the part about when she was a little girl, but when she got older, it was weird. I wouldn’t recommend this one.

2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur Clarke. There’s a reason this is a classic Sci-Fi book. It’s got the proper mix of human character development and a strange twist to it that makes perfect science fiction. Too bad he set it a bit too early.

Tell the Truth by Will Metzger. This one’s not a novel, although goodness knows Mr. Metzger tried to make it seem like one. This book is about witnessing and how we should all do it. It makes good points, but takes far too long in making them and uses stupid examples and I felt like it was talking down to me. But nothing wrong with the message he was trying to convey.

Confessions: I couldn’t finish Don Quixote or Anna Karenina. They’re not summer books. I barely got started in DQ and got about halfway through AK. I couldn’t pay attention when there were other exciting things like going swimming and making smoothies. My focus really hasn’t changed much since I was about 6. Swimming and food. What more is there to life? Wait till winter when it’s 4 degrees out. Then I’ll read ‘em.


Books I’ve started, just so I don’t forget to review them when I’m done:

The Once and Future King by TH White. I’ve read The Sword in the Stone before more than once. I think I read it this fall, in fact. I still love it, but I had never read the whole trilogy.

The Robe by I don’t remember. I read this when I was around 11 or 12 and was enthralled with it. I’ve just started reading it and have found myself a bit bored with all the details of Roman politics. Did I skip those parts before? I can’t imagine myself 12 years ago enjoying them. Who knows.

El caballo y su nino by CS Lewis. I’ve always loved this book in English, so I hope to love it in Spanish.

Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens. I haven’t read this Dickens yet. Hopefully it’s less tedious than A Tale of Two Cities, which is I think the last Dickens I read. That was a struggle. The only thing I know about this is that it’s like Chelsea’s favorite movie or something.

The Most of P.G. Wodehouse by… P.G. Wodehouse believe it or not. Several people have independently told me I would enjoy Wodehouse, but I’ve never read any because it wasn’t at the library and I was too lazy to order it. I was wandering through the Case library last week in search of a comfortable and quiet chair to do some paper reading in when I found myself in what must have been the English lit section. This was the only Wodehouse in that particular section. It looks like a collection of short stories. If I like it, I’ll actively pursue more. The Case library probably has more somewhere.

That’s a kinda lot of reading. The Robe, Our Mutual Friend, and the PG Wodehouse are all hefty books. Luckily they’re all from Case library, so I can keep them pretty muchly indefinitely.


July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives