Archive for July 1st, 2008

Entry for July 01, 2008

So I am in possession of my new apartment. I brought a load of stuff over last night and scoped it out again. I found out several things, including that I am going to absolutely detest those three flights of steep stairs while I’m moving in or if I get groceries. I had just done my 20 min swim, 30 min bike combination before moving the car-load of stuff and it was completely exhausting to go up the stairs with my heavy bags. I’m hoping that the fatigue was due to already having done almost 2 hours of exercise already yesterday. I already knew that there were no closets, but I found out that there is less cupboard space in the kitchen than I thought too. The cupboards are deeper than most of the ones I have now though because they’re all under the counter, so I think it’ll work out. There’s also no drawer under the stove. Perhaps I can rig up some sort of hanging pot and pan holder. I also found that there is a garbage disposal in the sink! Hooray!

Anyway, my mind is busy figuring out how best to utilize the somewhat bizarre space that I have. The ceilings slope down to the floor, so it’s a bit tricky. I’ll bring my camera over tonight and post pictures so that all the geniuses who read this can give me ideas. I get to hang out there from 4-8 waiting for the gas man to turn on my gas, so I intend to do some free laundry, cleaning, and planning where to put stuff while I’m there.

I made a delicious and very simple dinner last night. Sometimes I find it hard to cook for one person because I’m used to cooking for like 8 but this was really easy. I pulled a flour tortilla out of the freezer and heated it up in my cast iron frying pan while I chopped some lettuce and got out salsa, a can of beans, plain yogurt (didn’t have any sour cream), and grated some cheese. Once the tortilla was browned, I fried an egg in the pan, then put everything together in a fried egg taco. It was absolutely delicious and the perfect amount to fill me up.

The swim and bike went fine. I think it’s called a brick when you do two things together like that. I didn’t accurately capture the quick change from swimming to biking because I don’t yet have the clothing to do so. I had to change out of my swimsuit and it took me about 15 minutes from getting out of the pool to biking. The first 5 minutes of biking felt really weird, but after that it was fine. Today is supposed to be a rest day, but depending on when the gas man comes and the weather, I might go swimming.


July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives