Working – why?

I went back to work about a month ago, and turns out that working 4 days a week and trying to get other stuff done around the house puts a damper on the blogging time even with an awesome mother-in-law around to help with the household chores.

Hiking with Grandma
 photo IMG_8744_zpspk4e8uad.jpg

I was not looking forward to going back to work at all. I wasn’t looking forward to “me” time away from a demanding baby – I like her and she’s not particularly demanding. I wasn’t looking forward to looking “put together” and wearing nicer clothes. I wasn’t looking forward to adult interaction. I wasn’t looking forward to finishing my coffee in peace. Also, we intentionally structured our lives so we could live off of one income with minor hardship, so I don’t have to go back to work to afford to eat.

Watching Grandma hit some golf balls
 photo 20160325_132723_zpsczdjfocy.jpg

So why go back? Perhaps this is self aggrandizing, but I really think the work I do is important and there are relatively few people who can do it. God gave me the aptitude and desire to do what I do, so I feel like I should use that talent. I also enjoy my job and my coworkers, and I know this is sorta rare and a great blessing. I went to school for 8 years to get this job. I would not have considered my education a waste even if I hadn’t worked a day in the field because I enjoyed the vast majority of all 8 years of school and got paid to do it. However, I’m still having fun, so it seems like I should keep using that education that generous donors and the government paid for. Me working also gives Ken more freedom to take a greater risk in his career if the opportunity arises.

So far working is going fine. I’d still rather be home, but Anna seems to be thriving in the care of her Grandma, we are so thankful that she came to watch her for a couple of months.

 photo 20160408_124329_zpsyznnikqo.jpg

0 Responses to “Working – why?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


