A relaxed approach to cloth diapers

 photo 20160225_155152_zpsgeygauqp.jpg

I now have data which strongly indicates that posts about handkerchiefs are far less popular than posts containing baby pictures. This post is going to be about cloth diapers. I predict it will be less popular than baby pictures, but more than the discussion of my snot habits.

People cite multiple reasons for using cloth diapers: better for the environment, fear of chemicals, cuteness of cloth diapers, sensitive skin on the baby, and cost. I’m not afraid of chemicals, I’m not particularly motivated by cute in any area of my life, my baby does not have sensitive skin, and I’m not sure cloth diapers are better for New Mexico’s environment. Know what we have lots of? Space. What we don’t have here is water, and it takes 5 partial fillings of the washer to clean cloth diapers. Now, our water comes from a well down the valley a bit and once we use it it goes out our drain field, so one might argue that it just goes right back to the aquifer, but I’m not sure that’s entirely the case. Anyway, my main interest is cost savings. Also, it turns out in our case they are significantly less prone to blowouts. I didn’t know that would be an advantage going into this and hadn’t read that anywhere, so it might just be a benefit of this particular baby’s geometry.

I got 12 used but perfect condition Bum Genius Freestyle diapers and a couple of extra inserts for $60 at a yard sale (savings of approximately $160 over new, not including tax).

Washing and drying is easy. My tune may change once she eats food and poop becomes gross.

 photo 20160226_173022_zpst5v80yic.jpg

I use them at home during the day, then wash once they’re all used. It takes about 2 days to use the 12 and 1 to wash and dry (although washing and drying could be done overnight were I dedicated.)

The diapers didn’t fit until she was about 1 month old. We also didn’t bring them on our 10 day vacation. When she was 99 days old I had used approximately 351 disposable diapers. I think she averaged about 6 disposables a day up until about two weeks ago and now we’re down to 5ish, so that is 229 disposable diapers not used.

At 17.4 cents a diaper (what I paid today for Costco diapers), that’s $39.85 saved so far. We pay a fixed price for water no matter how much we use, so the only other costs are the electricity to run the washer (minimal) and the cost of laundry soap (also minimal – I just use a little of our normal soap from Costco).

So, we haven’t yet saved what I put into the diapers, but I think we will quickly get there. Besides, I expect I can sell them for what I put into them with no problem. Or use them for more babies, should we have them. Either way, so far I’m a fan. I wouldn’t want to go completely militantly cloth, but I’m liking using them in this relaxed way.

0 Responses to “A relaxed approach to cloth diapers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Archives


