Statements about life in the past week

  • I am starting to feel hope that one day this engine will be back in the truck and the truck will run.  Slight hope.

 photo 20151107_172836_zps9kukotcn.jpg

  • We went to see The Martian as our last opportunity to see a movie before we have to get a babysitter – which I think I can predict will never ever happen.  We don’t like movies that much.  I think our sans children average is about 2 per year.  But.  I loved this movie.  It was definitely worth both the money to go see it and the time it took to watch it, which I do not always conclude after seeing a movie.
  • Apparently carrots do well with drip irrigation.  They’re huge!  I haven’t tried one yet, so no word on whether they’re any good
  •  photo 20151108_150638_zpshozy9ck0.jpg

  • The garden is prepped for winter.  I pulled out all the dead plants, mulched the asparagus, and seeded everything else with mustard.  Ken claims it will grow over the winter and make for a nice  green manure in the spring.  We’ll see.
  • I cut up our jack-o-lanterns, roasted part of them, and put the rest in the compost pile.  Apparently the dogs find slightly moldy pumpkin to be just the most delectable treat.  Klaus whined at the door like he had urgent business to take care of, and when I let him out he made a beeline for the compost bucket and that scrumptious pumpkin.  We paid for it last night with the horrible smells emanating from one or both dogs…  Sigh.  The good news is that I used half of the roast pumpkin to make pumpkin custard with walnut topping and it is absolutely delicious.
  •  photo IMG_81861_zpskobnpgrk.jpg

  • My co-workers are so supportive and generous about this whole baby thing.  Not only are they willing to do my work for my longer than usual leave, they’ve arranged a couple of congratulatory parties.  I’m so in their debt.
1 Response to “Statements about life in the past week”


  1. 1 bmoozick November 11, 2015 at 11:38 am

    We saw the Martian as our first Egypt theater experience. I liked it too! But Egyptians need a 15 min. intermission halfway through their movies.


Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


