A quilt, death, and high expectations

This is a quilt that I believe was made by Ken’s Grandma Ellen.  It came to us via one of Ken’s aunts but addressed from Grandma Ellen with no note attached.  It needed a bit more quilting and some strings cut to be finished, so I was working on that last weekend.  It needed another hour of work, then I was going to send her a picture and ask her what information she had about it.

 photo IMG_80801_zpsxbjpjzwf.jpg

But she died on Wednesday.  It wasn’t necessarily unexpected, she’s been steadily weakening for months, but I was hoping to get this finished and ask her about it.

Just like we were hoping she’d live long enough to at least see a picture of her first great-grandchild wrapped in it.

 photo IMG_80811_zps2crxhma7.jpg

Yes, I am pregnant, due in Mid- November.  It may be sorta late to be making such announcements, but it never seemed like the right time to make Ye Grande Internet Announcement before.

I didn’t know Grandma Ellen all that well, I’ve met her a handful of times, talked on the phone once or twice, and I know she had four kids and was married for over 60 years.  I wear her wedding and engagement ring when I’m feeling in the mood for sparkly diamonds and my hands aren’t in danger of swelling.

 photo IMG_0939_zps2942d345.jpg

Even though we weren’t close, I’m so thankful that she raised my great mother-in law, who raised my super-fantastic husband, who is going to help me raise the child to be a godly, worthwhile, and enjoyable human.  Yes, kiddo, we have high expectations. No pressure on us as parents or anything…

2 Responses to “A quilt, death, and high expectations”


  1. 1 bmoozick September 28, 2015 at 10:11 pm

    My expectation for this child is that it doesn’t grow up at all until I get to meet it. Otherwise it should come to Egypt…

  2. 2 coldwork September 29, 2015 at 8:57 pm

    I think it should come to Egypt next summer, but I’m still working on Ken… Help me convince him we need to visit!


Leave a Reply

September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives


