Rio Grande Sprint Triathlon

I’ve been triathlon training since January. A week ago Sunday I was watering the garden, went down a step, and something bad happened under my right kneecap. I hoped it would be a passing sort of a thing, but by bedtime I could barely hobble around. Uh oh. I iced it several times over the next few days, but it was verrrry slow in feeling any better. I swam on Monday, and couldn’t even kick.

I was signed up for a backwards sprint triathlon on Saturday, the same one I did last year. On Thursday I tried to see if I could get my money back on the race. No dice. On Friday I attempted to ride my bike around the driveway with only moderate knee pain, so I decided to do the race. I figured walking the run portion would be better than throwing the race fee away.

I rolled out of the house at 6:15 AM anticipating being the last person to finish the race. Last year there were just over 200 race participants, this year there were 400, six of which were wearing only speedos… It was the first in the Retro Tri series that USAT is doing this year, so six guys took that to mean speedos?

Enough preamble. When my wave started I fully expected to run six steps or so, then feel excruciating knee pain and limp the next 3.09 miles. But lo and behold my knee was totally fine! And my Garmin was reporting sub 9 minute miles. Pretty good for me! Official run pace: 9:17 Last year it was 8:43.

The bike is generally pretty strong for me. I was cruising along at a reasonable pace, although I haven’t been biking much lately. I reached back for a drink from my new waterbottle holders that clip onto my seat post about 5 miles into the bike… and there were no bottles. Uh oh. Never ever do a race without trying out all the equipment. And I KNOW this, but the water bottle holder came from the REI garage sale last Saturday (incredible price!), and what with the busted knee I never got around to trying it out. Turns out it didn’t attach too well and I lost both water bottles. It was two loops of the course though, so I figured I’d keep an eye out for the bottles on the second go around and stop and pick them up like a responsible citizen. Turns out I only found one, and stopping to pick it up probably added minute to my time. Official ride pace: 16.8 MPH. Last year was 18.8 MPH.

The swim is always my best event, and this one is always crazy because it’s in a pool. I passed a whole bunch of people, probably kicked most of them in the head… I tried not to, but it’s difficult. Time: 9:29 Last year’s swim time: 8:19 I have a theory that last year’s swim was 50 yds shorter though, I think they possibly had an extra lane this year.

I had fun, was absolutely thrilled that I could actually run, and don’t feel too bad for being a bit slower than last year. April 2012 was an incredible month for getting in all my workouts, but this April I traveled for work twice and also busted my knee, so I’m pretty pleased I was that close to last year’s times. I ended up 161 out of 400 overall, and 8 out of 16 in my age group, which is actually higher relative ranking than last year anyway.

Next race is undetermined, but there is an olympic distance sometime in May or June that I’m eyeing and that I’ve been training for, then another sprint later in the summer, then an Xterra sprint in early fall. Can’t wait!

3 Responses to “Rio Grande Sprint Triathlon”


  1. 1 bmoozick May 1, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    Go you! Watch out for mud runs, those really screw up knees.
    I’ve been eyeing a duathlon where you run through Howard Amon, swim down the river, then run some more…I’m not sure if I’m brave enough though.

  2. 2 coldwork May 2, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    Do it!!! You’ll love it!


  1. 1 Rio Grande Sprint Triathlon 2014 | In pursuit of cold work Trackback on June 3, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Leave a Reply

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


