Man’s chief end

This weekend we went to an all-day seminar on how to find God’s purpose for your life hosted by our church.

My first thought: “Man’s chief end is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.” Westminster shorter catechism Q 1 Doesn’t get much clearer than that.  (Although I remember first hearing it and thinking man’s chief end was probably his head.   Thanks Mr. S. for setting me straight…)

Second thought: I have been working towards a particular job for the past 10 years. God gave me my engineer brain. He gave me the desire for this job. It seems likely that I’m going to get that job in the next month or so, and in that case I’m pretty sure it’s His purpose for me to be an excellent metallurgist for at least the next 3-5 years (which is the time frame the seminar was focused on.) Not much mystery there for me to spend all day pondering.

Regardless of my personal thoughts, it was good to spend time getting to know people at church better.

We also had to make a storyboard of our life, which prompted the following thoughts in no particular order.

  • I had five “seasons” listed in my life.  Four of them were school.  Thank God I’m finally done with school.
  • We had to list the people and circumstances that were good influences.   Also the bad influences.  I have had a lot of good influencing people – so thank you!  That’s especially the parental units.  Oh, and Krissy.  (Do I get a present now?)  But seriously, I listed her as a good influence.  The times she incited me to naughtiness have been forgiven, if not forgotten.  I’m quite sure I never incited naughtiness in her.
  • Being forced to go to catechism class once a week for an hour for years was not a waste of time.  While memorizing the questions and answers themselves is not going to help you understand your faith, having them memorized and understanding what the words mean is certainly helpful.   Perhaps if more people had catechism as children, we wouldn’t need to spend a perfect day to be outdoors being introspective indoors…

 

2 Responses to “Man’s chief end”


  1. 1 Krissy February 5, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    No. You just bit me once.

  2. 2 coldwork February 5, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    Those who can’t stop talking must be taught somehow to hush…


Leave a Reply

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Archives


