Pyrography

Look what I made!

 photo IMG_9683_zps887ea47c.jpg

My pastor preached on this passage a couple of months ago, and I thought it would be a good thing to be reminded of regularly. I racked my brain to figure out how to display it.

Pinterest is full of people printing out things on scrapbook paper, then framing them, but that seems… Uncreative, somehow. No offense. It’s better than nothing, certainly.

I’m no good at calligraphy.

Stenciling and painting would take forever because the verses are so long.

Cross stitching or embroidery crossed my mind, but I’m really not very good at embroidery and cross stitch isn’t quite the style I was going for.

Then I found woodburning (or pyrography). Do a quick Google image search if you’re bored, the pros make some unbelievable art. Anyway, I used a birthday gift (Thanks Krissy!) to get a pyrography pen and a piece of basswood, practiced a bit, had Ken help me figure out how to situate the words on the wood, then burned! My cursive isn’t perfect, but I think it turned out acceptably. It was a fun little project, and now it’s hanging above the dish drainer for regular viewing.

2 Responses to “Pyrography”


  1. 1 Krissy February 3, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    Cool :)
    Also. I’m keeping track of how many times you mention me in your posts. I guess the more stuff I give you the more I will be mentioned. Prepare for biweekly packages. Or not.

  2. 2 coldwork February 3, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Got it. More Krissy mentions coming right up.


Leave a Reply

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Archives


