Plan

Last year I became lazy and blob-liked because of everything that happened. I didn’t have a race to train for and I was super busy, so I got miserably out of shape. Not happening again this year! Let me publicly declare my intent to do an indoor triathlon in May, an X-terra (triathlon but with mountain biking and trail running) in June, and a century ride (100 mile bike ride) in the fall. I’m trying to convince Ken to join me on the century ride. So far I’ve not been successful, but I’m hopeful that he’ll come around.

I started training on January 1st with two days of skiing. What? It counts as training. My schedule at this point is to run and do a short bike on Mondays, swim Tuesdays, long bike on Wednesday, run and short bike Thursday, swim Friday, and run on Saturday. When the sun starts coming up early enough I’ll start riding to work again, so then I’ll be biking 5 days a week.

I’m contemplating the purchase of a heart rate monitor/GPS. Because I love data… Anybody have one they like? I was looking at the ones you can swim with, but it doesn’t seem like they’re worth the extra money because reviews say the GPS doesn’t work in the water. On the other hand, I could just get a heart rate monitor without GPS, then get a more sophisticated variety of GPS that we could use while we hike or whatever and just carry it with me. Hmmm. Advice welcome.

3 Responses to “Plan”


  1. 1 joekamphuis January 14, 2012 at 9:10 am

    Good for you, Lisa! We recently joined the Sports and Wellness Center at Montgomery and Tramway. I am thinking about participating in the Coyote Carrera Triathlon on Saturday April 21. http://www.trifind.com/re_63618/CoyoteCarreraTriathlon2012.html
    Keep up the good work!

  2. 2 readytochangenow January 14, 2012 at 9:49 am

    I find that data keeps me motivated in ways that nothing else does – if it keeps you motivated then it is worth the investment.

  3. 3 coldwork January 15, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    That looks like a good race, although it’s backwards! Might be good for me, since I can then concentrate on catching up with the competition after my abysmal run. I’ll put it on my calendar.


Leave a Reply

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


