Angel food cake and flowers

I’m going to make angel food cake for Easter. From scratch. Pray for me. On a related note, any suggestions for what to do with 12 egg yolks?

It’s spring, or at least it hasn’t snowed for several weeks, so I’ve been going a little bit crazy taking pictures of flowers pretending I have a macro lens on rare sunny days.

We started with crocus. I didn’t get any pictures of them in the snow, but I could have.
Photobucket

Then these little guys came out. They’re tiny, that flower must only be 1/2 inch in diameter, but they sure are beautiful.
Photobucket

The forsythia are currently in bloom, along with hundreds of thousands of daffodils, but none that are in sunny places in my yard in the early evening, so no pictures.
Photobucket

I bought a lily at Walmart and it’s got the most beautiful yellow flowers.
Photobucket

3 Responses to “Angel food cake and flowers”


  1. 1 Laura April 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    I love your flower pictures! I made angel food cake from scratch a few weeks back. I halved the recipe so I only had 6 egg yolks left over :) I ended up using them to make hollandaise sauce (and it took me a few tries to get it right!). You could also make lemon curd with them. Good luck with the cake!

  2. 2 Sharon April 22, 2011 at 12:19 am

    egg yolks – pound cake!

  3. 3 Joyce April 25, 2011 at 11:39 am

    You make a chiffon cake with the 12 egg yolks. My aunt used to make both a chiffon and angel food cake because you can use up the entire egg.


Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


