Rain, Rain go away

This morning I put on my bright orange jacket and headed down to school. It was just misting, so I thought a rain coat wasn’t necessary. Unfortunately, I had a strong headwind, so it wasn’t so much misting as raining horizontally into my face. The orange jacket does not claim to be waterproof, but it does pretty well at keeping me dry except it always leaks wherever it’s touching me. Normally this is just on my arms, but with the strong headwind it was plastered to my front too. When I took off my coat it looked like… I was leaking in two prominent spots on my front. Embarrassing! Good thing my office mate has another job in the mornings. And good thing I have a blog so he can hear about it anyway if he so chooses!

It’s been raining forever. Ok, I think this is only day 4… Speaking of rain, Ken is in Portland, OR today for a job interview. Contemplating living in Portland made me curious about the weather as compared to Cleveland. Cleveland gets 38.71″ of rain per year, with most of it occurring in the summer (3.5-3.9 in/month). Interestingly, the summer months also have the highest percentage of the day in sunshine. Therefore, most of Cleveland’s precipitation comes in the form of thunderstorms in the summer and 40″ of snow in the winter, neither of which I object to, although they do have a nasty habit of ruining plans. What I do hate is the days on end when it constantly rains. Overcast is fine. Rain is horrible.

Now, shall we look at Portland’s weather? It appears that the average rainfall there is 37.5″. Less than Cleveland! However, from November-March the monthly precipitation is between 4 and 5.71 in/month. And the average low is 34-40 degrees. My interpretation of that data means it rains constantly, no snow, for five months. I feel like this climate is not going to make me happy.

And yet Portland apparently has the most cyclists in the US? Maybe it only rains at night or something.

2 Responses to “Rain, Rain go away”


  1. 1 Ronnie April 20, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    And most importantly, were you to move to Portland, you wouldn’t get to wait a year between visits!

  2. 2 coldwork April 20, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    I will have you know that I’ve been home 4 times in the past 12 months. Considering that our other serious option if my job offers ever come through is the Tri-Cities, it might be deduced that some of us LIKE our families.


Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


