Lunchtime rant

Maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about, but it seems to me that your sole duty as a member of congress is to keep the country running. This includes coming to an agreement on a budget in time. Not more than 6 months after the fiscal year has started.

This was quoted in a Yahoo article. “Our bill is simple: If we cannot do our work and keep the government functioning, we should not receive a paycheck,” the Senate Democrats wrote to House Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio). “If we cannot compromise and meet each other halfway, then we should not be paid.”

Sounds good to me. Everyone else gets fired if they can’t do their job.

If the government does shut down, then Ken’s dad (my father in-law I guess, how odd) is coming to stay with us next week. Also, I’m assuming the DoD set aside the funds for my fellowship back in 2008. Otherwise this private contractor doesn’t get paid. That’s right, I’m a private contractor to the US government for tax purposes. Pretty special, huh?

To end on an un-related and non cranky note, we got to go see Les Miserables tonight! I am SO excited!

2 Responses to “Lunchtime rant”


  1. 1 Ronnie April 6, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Was Boehner crying when he said that? If not, he didn’t really mean it. (Yes, I know about crying…but this is a joke about Boehner, not me.)

    It’s ironic, though, because Republicans are usually the ones that HAVE the most money and want to KEEP it, too.

  2. 2 coldwork April 7, 2011 at 10:44 am

    I’m sure he only said that and backed the bill because he knew it wouldn’t pass but would make him look good.


Leave a Reply

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


