State of the Lisa address

I just applied for my first job. I’m not expecting to get it as my expertise isn’t quite in the right area, but it feels good to actually get starting on the apply for jobs task on my to-do list. I have two more that I want to apply for, and am planning to spend some time in the next week searching for more.

It was 30 degrees during my ride to school this morning. It felt like spring had come and I was expecting to see flowers popping up through the snow. It’s been cold.

Research is frustrating, but I submitted a first draft of one chapter of my dissertation to my advisor yesterday. I think I’ll start ending each post with a dissertation length update. If I could just get two more good data points on this one set of experiments, and understand what the heck is going on in my two other sets of experiments, I would be set. To put it in perspective, I basically have five kinds of experiments going into my dissertation. So 3/5 of it is currently up in the air. Sigh.

To end on a positive note, wedding-related festivities begin this week. I’m going out to dinner with some girl-friends from work on Thursday to celebrate – not exactly a bachelorette party, but I’m sure they’ll do their best to be embarrassing anyway. On Saturday my church is having an “engagement dinner” for us. Has anyone ever heard of such a thing? It was originally pitched to me as a wedding shower, but I think since the whole church including the dudes are invited maybe they changed the name to make them feel more comfortable?

Current dissertation length: 22 pages.

0 Responses to “State of the Lisa address”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


