Catching up

The trip to Houston was good. Meetings and presentations went well and I even forced myself to talk to people who work at a company I’m interested in. There was a pet bunny who lived in the courtyard of the little hotel where we stayed. It was bizarrely hot. I learned that flying during the stage of a cold when your ears refuse to pressurize is incredibly painful. My inner ears didn’t stop hurting for a full day after my flights.

Since I got back I’ve been keeping busy with running experiments, running and riding my bike while the weather is still decent, and cooking a lot. For some reason Ken hasn’t been cooking lately, so it’s all me. I don’t mind cooking, but if this is going to continue I think we’ll need to adjust the rest of the household chores so it’s a bit more fair.

I finally got up the guts to talk to my professor about when I might be graduating, and it sounds like he’s thinking summer. So, now I can start job hunting. What fun!

This means that I have to decide whether I want to go the postdoc route or not. If I do, I know of at least one fellowship which I want to apply for, and the application’s due December 15th. This brings my “major writing projects to be completed by early or mid December” up to 4, possibly 5 (more if I find more fellowship applications). That doesn’t even include the little thing known as a dissertation which I should certainly be starting. And here it is nearly November, also known as the month in which you blink and then it’s suddenly January 4th.

1 Response to “Catching up”


  1. 1 Kim October 29, 2010 at 10:04 am

    I have all the confidence in you that you can get these things done. it’ll be a hectic couple of months, but you’ll rock it out.


Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


