I fell off my bike again.

Yesterday morning while riding to school, I went over a measly one inch ledge where the sidewalk meets the street in an intersection and felt the seat snapping off beneath me. I went down hard, stopping all the traffic, and scattering bicycle parts throughout the intersection. Highly embarrassing. Highly painful. I must have gone down directly onto my right knee, because it proceeded to swell up to twice it’s normal size under the road-rashed skin. I limped the final quarter of a mile to work pushing the traitorous bicycle, cleaned up, took a couple of ibuprofen, and stole somebody’s packs of hot dogs out of the lounge freezer to do some icing. I decided not to go to the doctor as I could walk on the knee without too much difficulty, but as the morning wore on it got more and more painful, so I caved and made an appointment at the student clinic. If you know me, that means I was HURTING. Also, I’m supposed to do a triathlon in less than 2 weeks, and if there was any serious knee injury I wanted to know so I could cancel my registration.

The knee was so swollen the doctor said she couldn’t really tell what was going on, but that all the ligaments and knee cap seemed to be attached and intact, so it was probably just bruised. Which is exactly what I was hoping she would say. They gave me a bag of ibuprofen, a bag of gauze, tape, and the biggest bandaids on the planet, a tetanus shot in the shoulder that wasn’t already sore from running into Cleveland, and instructions to ice the knee as often as possible.

So here I sit, icing my knee before I attempt to ride a bicycle (a different one) down to work with a knee that is not particularly interested in bending.

It is unfortunate because I’m already hopelessly behind on my workouts from laziness and plantar fasciitis, and there’s no way that running is going to feel good at all for at least a week. I don’t want to really swim until the road rash scabs over, which can take a while, and it helps to have a bendable knee to go bicycling. Oh well, I guess this is an opportunity for my feet to rest and get ride of the plantar fasciitis once and for all, right?

I wouldn’t be a materials science engineer who is particularly interested in mechanical behavior and failure if I failed to mention that the fracture surface of the offending bolt shows the most beautiful fatigue fracture surface pattern I’ve ever seen.

Now for the gory pictures. If you are squeamish and don’t like looking at wounds, bruises, or giant pasty white thighs, don’t scroll down…






My troublesome swollen knee.

Photobucket

The incredible awesome welt on my thigh presumably from the seatpost. It’s well over a foot long and the prettiest color of purple you can imagine. Ken suggested I paint a sunset scene around it and call it art.

Photobucket

3 Responses to “I fell off my bike again.”


  1. 1 Kim July 29, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    OUCCCCCCCCCCCCCHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!! That looks so painful. Damn, you’re a warrior!

  2. 2 Bethany August 5, 2010 at 12:12 am

    I must say that is one of the most impressive I’ve ever seen. Congratulations! you should win a prize for that.


  1. 1 2010 Lorain International Triathlon « In pursuit of cold work Trackback on August 26, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


