Stuff

Things:

  • My paper that I wrote this spring won second place in the graduate student paper contest in one of the two big professional societies I’m involved with! This means I get a little prize money AND, more excitingly, I get to go to San Diego at the end of February! Here’s hoping that my talk ends up being waaay at the end of the conference so I am forced to stay all week…
  • Things were moving along beautifully towards having a cool and delightful car interior by tomorrow afternoon until last night, when everything went wrong and there is now no hope. It was a highly depressing night. Both blower motor/fan assemblies for the outside air intake and for the recirculating one are destroyed. They each cost $250 to replace. It’s likely that a new solution involving computer fans and custom fan housings will make the climate control system better than ever, but it will take more than one day to implement. So, any tips on surviving two five plus hour car ride and two nights of camping in 90+ heat and high humidity?
  • On May 13 I swam 1000 yds in 17:40, a pace of 1:46 per 100 yds. On June 8 I swam it in 17:36, pace of pretty much the same. On July 12, I swam it in 16:51, a pace of 1:41 per 100 yds! Amazing improvement! I was listening to a podcast about stroke timing and decided to try to change mine. Apparently it was a change for the better! Good thing, because changing your stroke after swimming the same way since before you can remember is HARD. I have to think about it all the time.
  • It’s halfway through the month, and I’m almost exactly halfway through my planned swimming yardage. That’s where the good news ends though. Backpacking in my sandals made my left foot all sad and plantar fasciitis-y, so I’m at 12.7 miles out of 66 planned. I hope to be back in running shape by Monday. I’d rather not even mention the riding total… 86/410. Ugh. I don’t even have any injury excuses for that one. I just cannot get motivated to get on the darn bike and spend time riding. To illustrate why this is a problem: In order for me to catch up on the 30% I’m behind on my running, I’d need to spend 3 hours running. Not actually that difficult. To catch up on the biking (also around 30% behind) I’d have to ride for 9.6 hours. Freaking impossible! I will never be a cyclist.
  • I sold my first road bike to Ken’s friend. Sniff. I was sad to see the Raleigh go, but I want something faster. He needed a bike, and now I have cash to buy a new bike. I just have to find one that I want.
1 Response to “Stuff”


  1. 1 Kimwithak July 19, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Congrats on the paper! That’s great news!


Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


