Another childhood memory destroyed

When I was young I had my own cookbook. I thought it was pretty much the best thing in the world. A cookbook for kids! With pictures! Just for me! I mean… just for me to share with my 4 sisters!

On Thursday while waiting in line at Walmart I noticed a picture of that same book on the side of the flour I was buying. It turns out it’s a free book you get if you send in the upc or something like that.

Suddenly the magic of having my very own cookbook as a child is diminished. My parents (or perhaps grandparents?) only got me this book because it was free on the side of a flour bag, not because they knew I would love and treasure it!?

But then I was thinking. If I had a kid, I’d totally do the same thing. What does it matter where it came from or how I got the idea? They’d like it.

I’m turning into my mother.

I’m still never going to ration the grapes so that by time we’re allowed to eat the last of them they’re moldy and nobody wants them but we have to eat them before we can eat the new strawberries which aren’t moldy, but will be by time we’re allowed to eat them because they’re rationed too.

So there.

1 Response to “Another childhood memory destroyed”


  1. 1 Kim May 17, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Don’t you love those moments when you realize you’re truly your mother’s daughter?


Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


