Happy Thanksgiving!

Blogging can be a weird thing. For instance, as I write this it is currently Wednesday at lunch time. However, I’m not going to post it until Thursday late evening. This ensures that I have news to tell my family when I attempt to call/Skype them to wish them Happy Thanksgiving.  (While not wearing my ridiculous, but totally stylish thank you very much, Joseph-and-the-technicolor-dreamcoat-esqe bathrobe on camera this time.)   That said, I bring you a list of things that have either happened or are going to happen (but will have happened by time this posts) for which I am thankful. Confused yet?

  • We got the proofs of paper #1 and returned them to the journal, so hopefully it’ll be published in the very near future.
  • I got news that the changes we made to paper #2 were accepted and so it is now officially in press.
  • My PhD thesis proposal paper was deemed by my adviser to be ready to be presented to my committee. The plan is to have the presentation/oral exam before I leave for Christmas vacation.
  • Last night I bought a “fresh” turkey that was most emphatically partially frozen. Sigh. At least it was 11 cents per pound cheaper than I thought it was going to be. It’s also only 13.5 pounds, so I guess we won’t have massive amounts of leftovers. Hopefully it thaws out by Thursday.
  • Tonight I have to play piano for a joint Thanksgiving service. Ack! I thought I was going to have to drive the 40 minutes there in the dark and rain in an old BMW with a failing starter motor all the while trying to read directions and quell the rising anxiety about those two sections in the prelude that I haven’t quite mastered because the organ doesn’t have enough keys to play them all by myself, as Ken had declared he wasn’t coming. But now apparently he IS coming. Whatever.
  • Tomorrow morning I’m running the 5 mile Turkey Trot downtown. My official goal that I know I can achieve is to beat last year’s time – just a hair under 50 minutes. My secret innermost goal is to beat 47:00. That’s 9:24 miles. I’m pretty much a speed demon.

That’s all for now, folks. Happy Thanksgiving!

0 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


