In which the the interweb provides helpful financial advice

This is post 2 in my finance series. Find the first post here

I’m going to start off this financial mini series (Holy mackerel this sounds exciting!!) by directing you to some excellent websites written by people who know what they are talking about. (i.e. not me.)

The Motley Fool This is my favorite financial website. It has free information for many levels of financial knowledge and it manages to convey information about a very dry subject with some modicum of humor. Amazing!

MSN Money I’m not a huge fan of this website, but they do have a lot of calculators to give you an estimate of a down payment, mortgage payments, retirement requirements, etc.

NPR Your Money NPR generally has very interesting and well done segments on various financial topics. Even if the particular topic doesn’t apply to you it’s usually pretty entertaining to listen to. But that’s coming from me, who listens to Car Talk and This American Life with a near religious fervor every week while I run. Such behavior is probably a bit strange.

Bankrate.com On this website you can compare interest rates (bot for savings accounts and loans) on pretty much every single banking institution that’s available on the internet. I’ve found it very useful to confirm that my local bank has comparable interest rates to other places I could be saving my money.

Dave Ramsey I don’t know much about this guy, except that he’s a big advocate of not having any debt and has a radio show where people call in and he tells them to stop spending money. A lot of the sort of “Christian Mom” blogs that I read – not that I read that many – are trying his method to get out of debt. It seems to be pretty much common sense advice.

Vanguard When I was trying to figure out how I wanted to invest some money, the internet told me that Vanguard and Fidelity were the two bastions of investment
to work through. Both had similar funds offered and similar services. When it came down to it, I chose Vanguard because I liked their website better. They have a lot of information easily available about stocks and bonds.

0 Responses to “In which the the interweb provides helpful financial advice”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


