I did something creative!

My living room

Finally this weekend I got around to taking pictures of my house. But there was a problem! See that picture? That’s my living room at night. Notice anything? That’s right, it’s pretty dark.

Clearly I was in need of some lighting. So, I picked up the following beauties at a garage sale for $2 apiece.
Lamps

They were both whole and gave off a lovely, seizure inducing, flickering light in their original state. Their beautiful, off-white, gold flecked paint was peeling.

Peeling paint

They needed HELP. So, Lisa to the rescue. I purchased my supplies – Acetone, spray paint, light sockets, and shades that would actually fit in my house.

Supplies

I scrubbed out all the old paint, gave the insides of the glass a couple of coats of spray paint, and put them in the oven to dry out by the pilot light. I added to the noxious paint fumes with a little brass polish for the bases and hardware.

Before and after polishing

I installed the new sockets (I’m quite the electrician) and re-assembled the whole shebang, including the cool new shades. The final product is two strangely bright blue lamps that only I could love. But I do! And that’s all that counts!

Done!

They even match my favorite blue chair! All this for the low, low cost of $33! $20 of that was on the new shades. That’s the last of the gift money from Mom and Dad. Thanks!

Next to the my blue chair, on my re-finished sewing table which also turned out well.  Apparently I do furniture just fine.

4 Responses to “I did something creative!”


  1. 1 Kimwithak September 30, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Very cute! Good work, my friend.

  2. 2 S. Hoffmann October 1, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    I like that blue lamp, too, Lisa!

  3. 3 coldwork October 2, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Thanks guys!


  1. 1 Tooting my own horn « In pursuit of cold work Trackback on October 5, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives


