Weekend of champions

Guess what I did this past weekend?

The Mantis is my favorite

The Mantis is my favorite

I went to Cedar Point, the BEST AMUSEMENT PARK IN THE WORLD. Supposedly. Also, I was introduced to fried green tomatoes. I’m not sure which experience was better.

Cedar Point was a bit overwhelming for this girl who had previously been on a total of 6 roller coasters in her life. My favorite of the seven rides I went on was the Mantis. It was INTENSE, but in an upsidown and lots of g forces sort of intense, rather than a “my stomach is about to fly out my nose” sort of intense. And that is what I like. I was too chicken to ride on the two REALLY BIG (Millennium Force and Top Thrill Dragster) rides, and also there was an hour wait, for which I was too impatient. Actually we were almost to the front of the line at Millennium Force and it broke down and smelled of burning rubber/metal which doesn’t exactly inspire confidence. We were told it would be an hour before it was running again, so we left.

Where have fried green tomatoes been my entire life? Mom, why did you not introduce me to this delectable fare? I am either going to have to pick all of my tomatoes before they are ripe or buy some, because my life is not complete without these things!

So yes, it was a good weekend. I’m not sure how I’m going to top it ever. You just don’t get to go to a major new-to-you amusement park with friends you haven’t seen in a while AND discover a delightful new (and cheap! and easy!) food group all in one weekend very often.

1 Response to “Weekend of champions”


  1. 1 Kimwithak September 15, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Cedar Point is a right of passage for people in the Midwest. I’m glad you finally got a chance to visit. The Mantis is a pretty good coaster but I don’t like slamming down on the bicycle seat thing in the middle at the end of a hill or turn. I think if they redesigned that it’d be much better.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives


