Summer Reading

I can’t remember when I last summarized the books I read. I didn’t do as much reading as I would have liked this summer – something about moving, training for triathlons, vacation bible school, and oh yeah, no I DO NOT get the summer off. Yes I am a graduate student. No, I still do not have the summer off. I essentially have a full-time job.

…but that’s another post for another time. Here’s the round up of what I can remember reading.

Dracula – Bram Stoker
I’m not sure how I managed to miss reading this in my educational career. The first half was great, but the second half they just hung about and talked and bemoaned their position far too much. And the statements made about women, their brainpower, and position in society… Good heavens! I hope it was tongue in cheek.

The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
Again, not sure how I escaped without reading this one. I thought that I had read it, and even said so in a comment somewhere, but then I realized I actually hadn’t, felt guilty, heard some friends give violently different opinions about it, and picked it up from the library. I hated it. I really did. I’m not kidding. (heh) Does the stupid old kid ever shut up, and what is with all the weird stuff about how he means things at the time and then doesn’t? Somebody needs to knock some sense into that spoiled brat, and they evidently don’t get the chance to because he doesn’t end up going out west and learning a thing or two.

Murder with Peacocks – Donna Andrews
I picked this up simply because the title caught my eye as I was wandering through the library. It was a fun mystery, but I found the setting to be a bit ridiculous. Nobody actually lives like the characters do! And there were fewer peacocks involved than I had hoped.

Rama II – Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
I haven’t quite finished this one, but so far I’m enjoying it. It’s not quite as interesting as Rama was, mainly because it’s not laying out a new concept for a world but rather explaining the world in more detail. Still, enjoyable thus far.

Dragon Flight – Anne McCaffrey
Don’t ask me how I managed to not read this series as a kid. This is right up my alley, and I know I remember some friends reading it. I actually listened to this one via the digital book on tape download from the local library while analyzing data. It was excellent.

Inkheart – Cornelia Funke
I’m listening to this as well. I saw this movie on the way back from Spain, I think, and pretty muchly loved it. Brendan Fraser is always great though. I figured since the movie was so good, the book would be many times better. Thus far, that assumption has proved true. There’s nothing like a good story of bad guys, magic, and imagination.

1 Response to “Summer Reading”


  1. 1 Kimwithak September 3, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I’m so glad you hated Catcher in the Rye. I DESPISE that book. When I had my garage sale, some kid came by and asked if we were selling it (it wasn’t out) and I went inside and gave him my copy and almost paid him to take it from me.

    You’re right–all that kid does is ramble on and on.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives


