Thinking ahead

So, now that I have my Masters degree, the next couple of years become a lot more defined. I expect to graduate with my PhD in 3 years (hopefuly 2..) at the latest. (Hopefully God doesn’t read that and decide I’m too big for my britches, cuz I’m not sure how much more Cleveland I can handle beyond that.) After that I never ever want to live east of Colorado unless I’m in a foreign country. (Again with the too big for my britches thing.) So, that gives me at most three more years on this side of the country, and I have barely scratched the surface of places I ought to go while I’m over here and have the chance.

Washington DC – I was there back in the day with my family, but I’d love to go back and do a few more things, see a few more museums, etc. In my secret innermost heart, I’d like to do the Nations Triathlon someday… but that would be expensive. And hot. And muggy. Not fun, right? But imagine getting to bike and run through all the cool stuff in DC with no traffic… It would be awesome.

New York city. I’m convinced that one (or several??) of my sisters will want to meet me in NY city someday, where we will see a show on Broadway, see Central Park, and see the Statue of Liberty. (Hello sisters, I’m sure you want to earn your hard-earned college money on this, right?) I’m pretty sure I won’t like New York, but I’d like to give it a try anyhow to say I’ve done it.

Niagara falls – Done. Totally worth it, too.

Maine – I’m pretty sure I could spend about a month in Maine, kayaking, eating lobster, hiking, etc. It looks like SUCH a cool place.

Upper Peninsula of Michigan – I remember very little of being there, but I think I have been, and I think I’ve heard it’s very pretty.

Boston – The history nerd in my cannot WAIT to get to Boston. Ken has relatives that live there. Hmm… Opportunity for free lodging?

Chicago – I wanna go back.

Grand Rapids – I really shouldn’t let my time here go by without at least once visiting my cousins who live in Grand Rapids. Besides, I have a feeling that Grand Rapids is one of those places where I fit in physically, like Denmark. Everyone is tall and blond and good looking, and the children are above average. Or is that Lake Wobegon?

Doing some backpacking on the Appalachian trail might be cool, but I have no idea what (short) section comes highly recommended.

Is there anything in the Northeast or Midwest I have to see?

1 Response to “Thinking ahead”


  1. 1 Kim August 28, 2009 at 10:49 am

    When you go to the U.P. of Michigan, definitely check out Mackinac Island on the way. One of the most beautiful places ever.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


