FTW

Heading out on the bike route.  Thanks to Ken, my brilliant photographer, transportation manager, and chef

Heading out on the bike route. Thanks to Ken, my brilliant photographer, transportation manager, and chef


You’re reading the words of the first triathlete in her age group and the 7th woman overall this past Saturday! Thank you very much. You can stop applauding now.

Please ignore the fact that there were only 3 people in my age group (that I know of, the top 1 and 2 females may have been in it, but they don’t have ages listed) and 17 women racing. What ought to matter most to me is that I beat my time last year by a good 7 minutes (but it doesn’t. I have a MEDAL, dude!). However, I’m not sure that’s a really good comparison since last year I got a flat and this year the bike course was 2 miles longer. So… If I make corrections for time lost last year (~10 minutes) and time gained this year (about 6 minutes), I come up with being only 3 minutes faster than last year, which is about a 3% increase in speed. Still not too bad I guess.

There are only a few things I would have done differently. First, make sure my running shoes were untied so I could put them on easily (one of them had a double knot). That cost me at least half a minute in transition. Stupid! Second, I would have watered down the PowerAde I was drinking on the bike. It was just TOO sweet for me. Third, I should have biked harder. I totally could have passed that one girl just ahead of me and made her work harder for her 6th place finish. Saving energy for the run isn’t particularly beneficial since I’m ridiculously slow at it anyway. Anyway, I’m far from fast, but I had a blast and completely exhausted myself by the end.

How the heck am I going to survive a triathlon in 2 weeks in which the swim is 3.75 times as long, the bike is an extra 4 miles, and the run is 2 times as long?

2 Responses to “FTW”


  1. 1 Andrea August 11, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Wow!! I am totally and completely impressed. Really! You did great!

    You are going to do great in 2 weeks! You know what you want and you know what you have to do to get it. I have faith in you!

    -Andrea


  1. 1 2010 Lorain International Triathlon « In pursuit of cold work Trackback on August 26, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


