Triathlating tomorrow!

Tonight I’m headed out camping so that I can get up bright and early and do a sprint triathlon! It’s the same one I did last year, and I’m hoping to be waaay faster (and not get a flat tire). I’m in better shape, but I also weigh 15 pounds more, which I discovered last night when having a competition called Who has the lightest bicycle? Um. Hi, I’m Lisa, and I eat too much… It’s all muscle, right??

And by the way, in an ironic twist of fate, my commuter bike (mid 90’s Diamondback mountain bike) and my road bike (Raleigh Technium of an early 1990s variety) both weigh the same (28 lbs), with the Raleigh probably being just slightly lighter because we weighed it with the lock attached. My mountain bike comes in very last at a whopping 32lb.

Funny how 4 lbs is a lot in bicycle terms, but really if I wasn’t a glutton I could save 15 (or more, I suppose, but that seems like a lot of work).

Anyway, I didn’t start out to write about how fat I am, but just to say I’m going camping and it’s going to be awesome. I have a post about Chicago mostly done, but it might wait till next week because lunchtime is coming to a rapid close.

2 Responses to “Triathlating tomorrow!”


  1. 1 Andrea August 8, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Sounds like you are about to have a really great trip! I wish I loved riding a bike… I really do. I just don’t though.

    I may have to learn how to though because my husband and children LOVE to. And I do hate being left behind :)

    -Andrea

  2. 2 coldwork August 10, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Being left behind is always a good motivator! I think having a bike you love is the first step to enjoying riding. It doesn’t have to be expensive either, I’ve gotten all of mine off of Craigslist for $100 or less!


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


