Recent readings

Godmother: The Secret Cinderella Story – Carolyn Turgeon
I wasn’t a fan. The writing was all confusing like and not concrete enough for me and I hated the ending. I like fantasy stories, and this one led me to believe it was going to be of the fantasy variety and ended up… Well, not being one.

Dune – Frank Herbert
Still love this book. I think it’s one of the most creative and detailed fictional universes ever created. Everyone should read it. Ken and my Mom and Lauren all finally read it I think. It’s so fun to see people finally enjoying books that you love and getting the same enjoyment out of it that you did.

Paul of Dune – Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson
Very long, very complicated, didn’t get to finish it because I was listening to it on CD and had to bring it back to the library and didn’t have time to rip the last 2 (of 15) CDs to my computer. Not that I would do that, of course. I did like what I heard, although it’s not as brilliant as the originals. Hopefully I’ll pick up the book from the library to finish off the last bit at some point.

Old Man’s War – John Scalzi
This is great! It’s like Heinlein! Heinlein before he started writing books about cats that say “blert”. Did anyone understand that at all? Does your cat say “blert”? Mine don’t, and they have a lot to say sometimes. If you didn’t get the reference in the previous few sentences, don’t worry, the book (The cat who walked through walls) was really weird and I wouldn’t recommend reading it. I’m sure this poor author gets really tired of being compared to Heinlein, but it’s really an honor. Anyway, I thought Old Man’s War was a great story and based on an interesting and innovative premise, which is what Sci-Fi should be all about. I don’t know if the sequel is out yet, but I intend to check before my next trip to the library.

The World According to Clarkson – Jeremy Clarkson
I’m listening to this as I go on my epically long (anyone who is a distance runner will laugh) 40-60 minute runs. It is hilarious! I’m slogging along at my miserably slow pace, dodging potholes in residential neighborhoods, and laughing my head off. Everyone in Cleveland Heights probably thinks I’m some sort of crazy. The book is a compilation of columns from the Sunday Times over the years, and they comment on Clarkson’s travels to different countries, politics, English life, etc. Jeremy Clarkson, will you please move to the US, get the rules changed, and become our president? Thanks. Life would be so much better.

0 Responses to “Recent readings”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives


