Hockey and lack of time

I play in the CWRU pep band, which plays at basketball and hockey games. HOCKEY. It’s my favorite team sport. I want to play it. Unfortunately, it’s kinda expensive (even though the town I live in has a women’s hockey program which takes people who can’t skate at all) and it takes up a lot of time. And I’m busy enough. Part of me wants to sign up for it next winter though. What else do I have to spend money on? There’s lots of things I want to do, but can’t/don’t because of time and money.

Kayak
Orienteering
Rock climbing
Hockey
Sailing
Wind Surfing
Surfing
Water polo
Volleyball
Downhill biking

Any one of those things could consume all my free time and a good bit of my money. The problem is that by time I have money to try all of them, I’ll be old, and apparently old people can’t do anything. Like my uncle. All of a sudden he’s too old to be crazy. Strange. Shouldn’t it become easier to be crazy as you get older because you’ve got less life to lose ahead of you?

And once you get into something, do you stick with it, or try something new? For instance, last year I tried triathlon. Obviously I loved it and I’m trying to do better this year. I also tried mountain biking and am pretty bad at that. If I were to invest some money in a new bike and all my weekends this summer in riding, I’d probably get better. Or should I just try something different? Hard to say…

1 Response to “Hockey and lack of time”


  1. 1 noble pig February 14, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Time and money that’s all we need more of….yikes.


Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Archives


