Entry for October 21, 2008

We went to West Side Market and the Ohio City Bike Coop on Saturday. Got lots of yummy veggies and fruit and some more of that garlic Slovakian sausage we got when Mom and Dad were here. The fruit included my new favorite apple of all time… The Johnagold. Oh goodness. They were delicious. And a dollar a pound. I didn’t know how good they would be, so I only got like 4. I’m going to have to go back there every week until apple season is over to buy more.

The bike coop was awesome, and I could spend SO much time there. They didn’t have a suitable mtb frame for me though. They had a couple which would have worked, but they weren’t ideal. If I’m going to pay $75-100 for a frame it had better be perfect.

Sunday was a big dinner for Spence’s at church since they’re leaving. The cook in the congregation brought salmon, prime rib, and cheesecake, I made a big dish of red potatoes, and other people brought salad, mac and cheese, turkey, a really good zucchini dish, and a spaghetti dish. It was massive amounts of food. They turkey was really good, as was the zucchini dish, salad, and my potatoes.

Speaking of potatoes, I think the way I made them is easier and better tasting than the usual way of boiling them. I washed them, cut them in half, and put them in a baking pan, dotted them with butter, sprinkled salt, pepper, and parsley flakes, then baked them covered for 45 minutes, then took off the tin foil for about 15 minutes to brown them. They turned out firmer than boiled potatoes, and I didn’t have to worry about mixing in butter and parsley after they were cooked.

Last night after work I taught Ken to play racquetball, and he beat me. Sigh.

Then he cooked the giant roast he has. It was delicious, but it wasn’t done until 10 at night.

0 Responses to “Entry for October 21, 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


