Entry for August 08, 2008

Happy 8-8-08. It will be sad in four more years when I’ll see the last of these really cool dates.

I have a dilemma. I received my Snapfish and Whole Foods gift cards in the mail from the giveaway I won. Woohoo! Great excitement. However. I have a case of grocery indecision.

I was going to go to Zagara’s tonight and take advantage of their sale on corn on the cob which is still not cheap enough for me to consider it a reasonable price. However, after watching the price remain ridiculously high all summer, I’m either going to have to cough up the $4 a dozen or not have corn. And since corn on the cob ranks as one of my favorite things about summer, I’m just gonna buy it before it’s too late. I was also going to get some bratwursts which are 2 for 1 and toss them in the freezer in anticipation of our triathlon weekend camping trip. There’s nothing like bratwursts for camping!

But now I have this Whole Foods gift card. Should I go to Whole Foods instead, skip the “cheap” corn, and buy my weekly allotment of fruit and cheese? Should I save it for next week and use it for my regular grocery trip then? Should I throw caution to the wind and splurge and buy stuff I would never normally buy because I have an un-earned quantity of money? Should I go to Zagara’s AND Whole Foods tonight? If I decide to splurge, what should I get? My inclination is steak, and if that’s the case I need to await Ken’s return because:

My oven doesn’t have a broiler! I found this out a couple of days ago and was astounded and personally offended. I didn’t even know that ovens came without them. Probably 60% of the occasions in which I normally use an oven I use the broiler. So… my cooking style is now severely cramped. I don’t know what to do. How does one make oregano chicken without a broiler? How does one live without oregano chicken? Anyway, that’s how I’ve always cooked steak. Ken’s the BBQer, has a BBQ, and loves to do it. So, no sense in me messing about with it when I’d probably mess it up and he likes to do it anyway.

Such a decision. I live a difficult life.

0 Responses to “Entry for August 08, 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


