Entry for July 24, 2007

The play was a lot of fun. We did quite well, I thought, despite Bethany Davis being violently ill the second day. She had a major stomach bug all day, and couldn’t even stand up for the performance. But… she wanted to do it, so we brought a chair up, and she sat when she needed to and didn’t get sick on stage. I’ll probably post some pictures on Facebook at some point.

Kristina has started a rumor that she may be coming home Friday to see me before I leave. I’m pretty excited about that. We’ll have to think of something fun and exciting to do.

Sunday I started reading Harry Potter 4, and yesterday I finished it. I… uh… didn’t do much else in the evening. Ken’s reading #7, but I wanted to re-read 4, 5, and 6 before I read 7. So the plan is that I’ll borrow Ken’s family’s copies, read them on the trip, then send them back with Ken. Dunno if I’ll finish them, but with four days of driving, I ought to at least get close. I would like to buy all of them at some point, so if I don’t finish I can just buy a copy of them when I get there.

Speaking of Harry Potter, I went to the latest movie on Saturday. I enjoyed it immensely. I didn’t remember the book well enough to miss a lot of the plot, and the wizard fight scene was one of the best fight scenes I have ever seen. Haha. Scenes I have seen. I don’t know why, but it just seemed very well done to me.

Also, people who go on and on about how Harry Potter is so inferior and how they would never read it are misguided and not helping their cause at all. They’re books for kids. They happen to be very long and enjoyable books for kids, and maybe if said people stopped being so stuck up they might just have a fun time reading them. (I even have found a rather large number of quite decent vocabulary words in them, for those who would say they’re poor quality. Also, they’re much better written than other modern novels I’ve read – the DaVinci Code, for example.) I would agree with said purists that Lord of the Rings really is an excellent series. I read them first when I was 11 or 12, and they were fantastic. However, they are not actually the be all and end all of literature. There are many other series that are quite excellent.

Having said that, I will agree that there is one “danger” with the Harry Potter series, and I’m not even sure if it is a danger. I’m sure there are kids who have read the whole series who have never picked up another book that is worth reading. They’re missing out on a lot of good literature and that is a shame. However, here’s why I’m not sure that it’s a danger. Those same kids probably would never have picked up a book at all if it wasn’t for Harry Potter, and their vocabulary certainly isn’t up to snuff for LOTR. So, is it better to only read one series your entire life, or read nothing? In that vein, there are probably kids who started reading Harry Potter then branched out because they’d been introduced to the joys of reading.

That was long. My apologies.

0 Responses to “Entry for July 24, 2007”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


